Mary, Mary Quite Contrary…

I am approaching the summer with great optimism in the form of my vegetable “garden”.  I am hoping the hidden Easter egg hunt approach will help to confuse the goat and keep him from eating all of our fresh produce.  This cherry tomato plant is potted near our back deck – for easy access – right near the potted parsley — I am imagining some simple yummy pastas in our future…Farther away on our property if you traipse past the mystery mound that does not grow grass, only gigantic weeds, you will find tucked away behind those strange weeds more tomato plants, pepper plants and pole beans.  Head towards the lilac bushes and you will see some tiny pumpkin plants (Edison’s addition to the garden) trying to make their way through our extremely rocky soil.  We have 8 little cherry tomatos already with no destructive behaviour from the goat yet…

Ok, I just made the easiest “cake” ever (in parenthesis b/c although it was called a cake – I wouldn’t necessarily describe it as such…)  Here goes…

  • 16 oz can crushed pineapple in its own juices
  • 20 oz can cherry pie filling
  • yellow cake box mix
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • stick ‘o butter

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease a 13×9 baking dish.  Dump canned pineapples (w/juice) in dish.  Spoon cherry pie filling evenly on top.  Sprinkle DRY cake mix on top of that.  Sprinkle walnuts on top of that.  Slice up the stick of butter into think squares and lay all over  top of the cake.  Bake for 1 hour (my oven runs hot and it was done a little faster than that).  Presto – easy dessert cake-y-ish thing.  I put cool whip on top (because I cooked it the whole hour and it had, um let’s say, DARK top and so I thought I’d cover up the burnt parts scraped up exterior and my friend suggested she would have served it with vanilla ice cream.  Also a good idea, Helen!

One response to this post.

  1. i’m at work – “working” – or checking your blog at the moment – anyway – I just looked at some of your other links for the first time – and saw some old Houghton faces that made me smile. Andrew Huth was in my F.Y.I. group when I was a leader… which brought back memories of making human pyramids and doing trust falls at freshman orientation week… I was always paranoid of trust falls – not that they’d drop me, but that my boney elbows would poke someone’s eye out as I fell into the human canopy. My shoulders have also been known to be deadly. Anyways, thanks for making my work day a little brighter.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

