Firsts of the season

Long time, no write…We had our first cherry tomato yesterday – actually, Edison ate the first cherry tomato – from our “garden” and he declared it to be “famfashtick” after stuffing the whole thing in his mouth and spurting tomato juice as he spoke.  I’ll take his word for it.   Note:  we got to it before the goat did.  🙂

 piano08.gif

This morning I had  my first “this is why I’m a teacher” moment with a particular student — I have this little boy  (he’s 10, so technically not that little anymore) who has been studying piano with me for 2 1/2 years now. He has natural ability/talent but until recently he NEVER practiced – he would just sight read his way through things – and I would get soooo incredibly frustrated & give him The Speech [“You need to PRACTICE…If you don’t want to take lessons you need to talk to your parents…stop picking your nose, please…I won’t allow you to take lessons anymore if you don’t start practicing because I have a waiting list of students who WANT to take lessons and will practice…”etc]  However, something shifted in him in the last 2 months and he started to *gasp* practice his songs and he is progressing rapidly — all this to get to this fabulous moment this morning where I was playing an  arrangement that he was going to start working on of Pachelbel’s Canon in D (famous for bridesmaids walking down the aisle) and I looked over at him when I was done and he had tears streaming down his face and he looked at me in wonder and said “that music did something inside of me and made me have to cry!”  What a great moment!

Leave a Reply

