God ALWAYS answers prayer!

   [thoughtful Claudia…]     re3.jpg

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

     We just got home safely from a slightly stressful trip to run errands.  Bible study – fine, no problem.  Pizza Hut lunch (where Edison has been begging to go to use his “Book It!” coupon from the library) – fine, no problem.  To the bank to make a deposit – fine, no problem.  Into the dry cleaner to pick up our down comforter and a tie of Garrison’s that wrestled with spaghetti sauce (and lost!) – fine, no problem.  Walk out of the dry cleaner, load the kids into the car, turn the key…and…wait for it…NOTHING.   Nothing but a click.  Engine dead.  Right then.  At the dry cleaner.  So Edison and I pray for a miracle “raise our engine from its death!!!”  (Claudia pensively sucked her thumb through the whole thing – she’s so laid back – see picture above)…. Ok,  Let’s try starting the car again…wait for it…turn the key…Jesus can walk on water…He can certainly get my car started…and???…nothing.  Sad.  So we traipse back into the dry cleaner where the little old lady behind the counter has been watching me (as I casually popped my hood open – like I had any idea what I might see.  “Hmmmm, looks like we’ve got plenty of Windshield Wiper fluid, so that can’t be the problem…:wink: “)  So anyhooo, there we go, back into the dry cleaner and ask to use the phone (yes, I may possibly be the last person on the planet who does not own a cell phone).  I call my mechanic and talk to his wife (who answers the phone) – while I’m describing the problem a woman comes into the dry cleaner and starts talking to me as I’m on the phone.  “don’t call a tow truck.  I’ll get your car going for you.”  So I tell Lorraine (my mechanic’s wife) “I’ll call you back”  Then this angel (aka woman at dry cleaners) walks outside with me, pops my hood, wiggles some wires around (she told me what she was doing, but I think she said it to me in Mandarin b/c I had no idea what she was talking about) and eventually jumpstarts my car – her hands get covered in car grease, but my car is running now so I can drive it to my mechanic (don’t need it towed – thank you Jesus!) where Bill (mechanic) quickly diagnoses that my alternator went bad & sends me home (because Garrison will be able to fix that for me, not because he is cold hearted).  Anyway Edison says as we’re driving home, “Boy Mom, that’s a real Testimony!  Jesus gave us that lady to fix our car so we could go home.”  I agree.  I have been inside tow trucks before (going to family reunion 2005 in Garr’s old Plymouth van.  We made quite the entrance at midnight.  Long story.) and they are generally not too kid friendly (no room for car seats, so baby rides Brittany Spears style on your lap).  On the way home every parked car that we saw Edison said “Maybe Jesus needs to send that lady to fix that car!  Or that car!  and that car!….and there’s one….and that car!”

We are happy to be home.  And will be finishing our errands on another day when we have a new alternator.

[Happy Claudia…]   reu81.jpg

Leave a Reply

