On the 7th day of Christmas….

…another ear infection.  This time it is Edison.  😦  He went to school feeling fine, I sat down with my coffee and my Bible had some peaceful time with the Lord, took a shower then got ready to tackle my “to do” list.  Decided I needed my “to do” list to look neater.  Rewrote my “to do” list.  Found some colored pencils to decorate my “to do” list (so that it looked more festive and I could merrily cross off all of the things on my agenda).  Decided I would dawdle one minute longer and then the old telly-phone rang.  Nurse Miner from Edison’s school.  By the time I got him to the doctor he was screaming in pain “My heart is in my ear!  Open eardrum!  Open!”  [He knew that Claudia’s eardrum had “opened” and that had helped some of the pain go away for her] “ooooOOOoooOOOoooooOOOOwwwwwwww”

It was really heartbreaking because he is normally such a trooper that I knew he was in some serious pain.  Especially when he didn’t even want to eat his lunch. 

 So maybe I need to write a new “to do” list…or just add the following things that I can cross off and feel like I accomplished something today…”pick up Edison from school”  “spend 1 hour in waiting room at doctor’s office”  “comfort crying kid”  “drive 25 minutes to Walmart pharmacy”  “spend 45 minutes at walmart shopping while Edison’s prescription is being filled”  “wait another 15 minutes because Edison’s prescription still isn’t filled”  “get in line to pay behind a man buying 30 gift cards”  “move to different line”  “get in a line that the cashier closes down right when it is your turn”  “go to yet another line”  “comfort TWO crying kids”  “buy caramel swirl latte at Dunkin Donuts”  “feed starving 11 month old”  “fall into chair for a moment’s rest”  “teach piano lessons”  “attack original ‘to do’ list”

todo.jpg

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nonni on December 18, 2007 at 4:31 pm

    Oh, I feel so bad for you and Edison! I recall those days, with Christopher, as if it were yesterday. And it always happened around the holidays – the worst time possible for everyone. I hope everyone is better soon 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Katie on December 19, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Yep, you know I’ve been there and can truly empathize!! At least you got a latte out of it! Still praying for health for BOTH our families! Oh, and I might try that with my to-do list too…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

