On the third day of Christmas…

My true love gave to me…3 french chickens…ha ha ha!  So, we’re leaving tomorrow to visit Garrison’s side of the family and we are all getting really excited to go.  I was up last night (this morning?) until 4:27.  No joke.  But all of the presents are wrapped.  Well, all of the presents that are going to Rochester are wrapped.  There are still a few stragglers for friends here, but I am putting them out of my mind and calling it a wrap (ba da dum – crash) for now!   I had my tea and Christmas carols going and the time just passed by without my noticing.  I’ve decided that I am changing my mind about my LEAST favorite Christmas song.  I have determined that for this year my least favorite song has to be “It’s the most won-der-ful tiiiiiiiime of the year”  It’s so dang peppy and it always comes on while you’re in a long line waiting to pay for something or if you’re stuck behind a huge line of traffic with every car turning as slowly as if they had a 3 layer wedding cake in their backseat…It makes me cringe.  I do like cheerful songs – don’t get me wrong – I’m liking “caroling caroling” a lot this season and find myself singing it opera style to the kids several times a day.  And then there is the Dance of the sugar plum fairies which has to be one of the most creative pieces ever written – think about it, is there anything that you can think of that is like it?  Not the usual I IV V with a few secondary dominants thrown in for color – that’s for sure.  But I’m not going to get into that.  I am just tired so my brain is going in too many directions.  I need to go pack and get my vegetable lasagna (yum) out of the oven.

Garrison is in New Jersey (long story that I may tell when we see the end of it) and hopefully he will get home before the kids bedtime because we had wanted to do “christmas” with them this morning but couldn’t because he had to leave so early in the morn.  But we need to do it before we go to Rochester because Edison’s big gift is a portable dvd player (shhh…don’t tell) for watching Backyardigans, etc while we take these long trips.

Merry Christmas everyone! 

Leave a Reply

