BLog-iversary

Well, here it is the month of my first BLog-iversary.  I can’t believe it has been a year since I started typing on these here hallowed spaces.  🙂  So many things change within a year and it is amazing to look back at all of the  moments that make up my life.  Big and small.

 

For those of you who know us, you know that we live here in upstate NY because the Lord led us to a wonderful church family in the middle of nowhere 8 1/2 years ago.  We have loved the family that Jesus gave to us.  They have laughed with us, prayed with us, rejoiced with us, mourned with us, encouraged and supported us.  They were there with balloons and baby gifts in the hospital, they were there with hugs and tears at Garrison’s father’s funeral.  They prayed with me that the Lord would open my barren womb and laughed in great JOY when we were blessed with our little angels.  They have loved us – seen through our weaknesses and have helped us to see Jesus more clearly.  His love.  His grace.  His divine purpose for our lives. 

I love my home, I love my life, I love my church family.  I truly thought I would be here the rest of my life.

But recently Jesus whispered into my heart,

He who loves mother or father more than Me is not worthy of Me.  He who loves son or daughter more than Me is not worthy of Me.  He who is not willing to take up his cross and follow Me is not worthy of Me.  He who finds his life will lose it, but he who loses his life for MY SAKE will find it. ”  Matt. 10  “Do you love Me more than these?  Are you willing to follow Me even if I ask you to give up this place that you love?  Will you go where I want you to go?”

With many tears we are following the most difficult thing that the Lord has asked of us yet.  Sparing you all of the lengthy details, here is the short version…After meeting with our pastor and the elders of our church the Spirit of God bore witness that He has a new plan for our family and we are going to be moving on from here.  I love the people here.  I feel safe here – it is the KNOWN and I am being called to the UNKNOWN.   But I must follow and obey my loving Saviour.  We’re unsure of our next step right now.  We’re pretty sure that we will be moving soon, but not exactly sure where.  It seems as though the Lord may be leading us away from this rural sanctuary and into somewhere closer to Albany but we’re still trying to figure out the details. 

 

I am trying to stay in a simple place of faith.  Not seeing and yet still believing.  God has been placing song after song in my heart for the last few weeks as we have been sorting through all of this.  All of these old hymns – Trust & Obey.  Tis so Sweet to TRUST in Jesus….and the latest is that old spiritual “I’m gonna Sing when the Spirit says “SING” I’m gonna sing when the Spirit says “Sing” I’m gonna Sing when the Spirit says “SING” and OBEY the Spirit of the Lord.”  I know He is the same God who led me to this wonderful place and I know that as I follow Him He will reveal more of Himself to me.  He is good even when my heart is sad.   And He is steady even when I am shaking. 

“Blessed Be your name, when the road’s paved with suffering.  When there’s pain in the Offering.  Blessed be your name!”

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Katie on May 27, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    Wow Kristin, that is scary and exciting all wrapped up in one! I will pray for you as you step out in faith on this next leg of your journey. By the way, I love that song – Blessed Be Your Name – it is very close to my heart and has carried me through some hard times!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

