the search is on

Sometimes we don’t think things through all of the way.  We do not have a couch to sit on in the living room, but we are the proud owners of this beautiful new outdoor patio set – 2 chairs, a loveseat, a “coffee” table and a gorgeous matching drinks cooler.  I am enjoying my time outdoors but would also love a place to sit whilst indoors.  Say, on a RAINY day.  Currently I sit on a folding chair or the piano bench.   I am looking for a couch, but it is such a COMMITMENT.  I need something that will look good in our living room – basically it needs to look good with the grand piano.  I’m thinking maybe a pattern of some type.  I saw one on something like a Guardisil ad that I liked.  Should I go to the furniture store – do you have that couch that is on that ad about preventing cervical cancer?  And then there is the factor that Garrison and I usually have very DIFFERENT ideas about what we would like to see in our furniture, which is why we pretty much NEVER buy ourselves anything (that and the fact that they all cost real M O N E Y S).  So I see a big graphic pattern in my head and he sees a plain manly leather couch.  And I think, well, he is the one who is bringing home the bacon…But I do love me a pop of color somewhere. 

 

He saw this outdoor set in a store and called me saying that he just sat on it and it was THE MOST COMFORTABLE patio set he had ever set his behind on.  And he was going to wheel and deal end of season style and then bring it home.  It wasn’t his favorite LOOKING set – this is the difference between a man and a woman.  Honey, sometimes you sacrifice COMFORT for FASHION.  Two Words.  HIGH HEELS.  Life lessons learned early as a woman.  But don’t get me wrong – we are loving this patio set.  It is just a little more TRADITIONAL looking than we would normally be drawn to.  But in our home we have consistently picked “practical” – i.e. good price, comfortable chair, seats 8 around the table, etc.  OVER what we are artistically drawn to.  I don’t know why this is, but it is a bad habit that has caused us to have all sorts of mish-moshy things that we don’t really love.  About a year ago I determined that I WOULD NOT do that anymore.  I would wait for the “perfect” thing that I LOVED.   When we get close to buying something I get cold feet…So this dream couch is a commitment.  I need something that I want to look at.  AND something that is REALLY comfortable to sit on.  AND something that we can afford.  CAN THE STARS ALIGN FOR ME?  This is where Garrison and I balance each other out.  I would always pick something for how much I enjoy looking at it rather than comfort.  He would always pick the comfort.  So if we can get our act together we will join forces against the evils of no place to rest our weary bones and find a dang couch that is all of that and a bag of chips.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jonathan on September 23, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    Second the vote that a leather couch would be the way to go. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kristin on September 23, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    sigh…men…

    Reply

  3. Posted by Nonni on September 23, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    Grandpa Jack wanted all leather furniture too, until I convinced him that wasn’t the most comfortable fabric for all bottoms. Now that we have his leather chair and my fabric chair, he finds himself sitting on my fabric covered chair frequently, because the leather is either too cold or too sticky, depending on the temp. It is possible to find a couch that is both comfortable and a style you love. Don’t give up hope or stop looking! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

