February Crafting

So, this month’s creative challenge theme over at Mo’s was “gifts for children”.  I have had such a fun time making things (and making messes!) for some of the little people (and soon to arrive little people!) in my life.

♥♥♥

First off, I started with this knitted hat.  Which as soon as I finished, Claudia grabbed and declared it  “MINE“, in that classic 2 year old way.  So, out came the knitting needles and I quickly knitted up hat #2.  I Love this pattern and see many of these hats in my future.

 hat-001blog-035 

♥♥♥

Next came this sweet little Stroller Blanket – Warm Fuzzy Fleece on one side and this darling Romantic cotton print on the front.  I like that the colors aren’t screaming traditional GIRL or BABY.

blog-039 

blog-040 blog-042

Those lovely ladies do seem like they’re having a nice time…

♥♥♥

On Valentine’s Day, Edison and I worked on the next project together – Crayon hearts.  My kids hate to use broken crayons, so we save them up until we have enough bits and pieces to melt together into molds.  The hearts were perfect for February.  They’re fun to color with because you never really know what color will land on your paper next!  oooo Surprise Surprise!

 

blog-044

♥♥♥ 

I also made a few bibs with scrap fabric that I had – embroidering one of them (because everything is better with a little embroidery, right?)  And those little ladies made an encore appearance…

blog-036 blog-037

♥♥♥ 

And last, but not least, I hand stitched up this little guy while watching a movie last night.  Claudia quickly dubbed him “Twinkle” and added him to her collection of best friends.  I can imagine a little fleet of these to watch over nurseries everywhere.  And So Baby Friendly!

 blog-0481

The Full Collection….

blog-041

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by katie on February 16, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    I love all these! I think you must be the most creative person I know – and you make it look easy. Whipping out the knitting needles indeed! My average knitting project takes about four months, and ends up so many different levels of tension and strings that I usually want to just stuff it into the Goodwill bag immediately. Is the little hat a pattern you can find online?

    Reply

    • Posted by Kristin on February 17, 2009 at 12:17 am

      Katie – you’re too much! haha I can picture you throwing your handknits right into a bag and lugging it far away! The pattern for this hat is SO easy. It is from a book I got at the library – Baby Knits for Beginners by Debbie Bliss. It’s even called “Simple Hat” & is aptly named. 🙂

      Reply

  2. You are so talented! Will you make me a hat for Hannah?!? love it! How much would you charge?

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kristin on February 21, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    a hat for hannah? Certainly! Just tell me what color you have in mind! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by Denise Erdman on June 22, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    Love the “Star Baby”!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

